Skip to main content

Denton Elementary School

305 W Salisbury St | Denton, NC 27239 phone Phone: 336-242-5708 phone Fax: 336-242-5713
Curriculum » One School, One Book 2017

One School, One Book 2017

In October and November our school will be doing our 2nd Annual One School, One Book program. This year every child will receive a copy of the same book – The Mouse and the Motorcycle – and asked to read it at home with their parents or family.

 

Thank you for helping us to build a community of readers at Denton Elementary. Please use the following reading schedule with your child and invite him/her to participate in our weekly trivia questions. 

 

Vocabulary Lists for each chapter: click here

 

Week 1:

Friday, 10/20/17:             Books Distributed, Chapter 1 – The New Guests

Tuesday, 10/24/17:           Chapter 2 – The Motorcycle

Wednesday, 10/25/17:        Chapter 3 – Trapped!

Thursday, 10/26/17:          Chapter 4 – Keith

Friday, 10/27/17             Chapter 5 – Adventure in the Night

 

Week 2:

Monday, 10/30/17:            No school for students: Teacher Workday

Tuesday, 10/31/17:            Chapter 6 – A Peanut Butter Sandwich

Wednesday, 11/01/17:         Chapter 7 – The Vacuum Cleaner

Thursday, 11/02/17:           Chapter 8 – A Family Reunion

Friday, 11/03/17:             Chapter 9 – Ralph Takes Command

Wear your mouse whiskers and mouse ears to school day on 11/03/17

 

 

Week 3:

Monday, 11/6/17:              Chapter 10 – An Anxious Night

Tuesday, 11/7/17:              Chapter 11 – The Search

Wednesday, 11/8/17           Chapter 12 – An Errand of Mercy

Thursday, 11/9/17:              Chapter 13 – A Subject for a Composition

Wear your mouse shirt or motorcycle shirt to school day on Thursday, 11/9/17

 

Design a Helmet for Ralph using a PING PONG ball and submit to the media center. Top design will win a Scholastic Dollars certificate for the Book Fair in November.

DEADLINE for helmets: Monday, 11/6/17

 

EVERY WEEK:

Try to answer our daily trivia questions
Ralph is out: take a picture of the Book cover out on the town or on an adventure and share them on our facebook page (or email picture to katelewis@davidson.k12.nc.us
Write a poem about the book and read it on the morning news show
 

 To listen to the chapters listed below, click on the link:

 Ch. 1: Dr. Greer